Past back to list »

Sigmar Polke

11th Rubens Prize Laureate of the City of Siegen

June 24 − September 16, 2007 (prolonged until September 23)

On the occasion of the 11th Rubens Prize Award this exhibition by Sigmar Polke in the Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen featured a wide selection of the artist’s current work on view for the first time ever.

Sigmar Polke, Jenseits des Regenbogens, 2007
Sigmar Polke, "Jenseits des Regenbogens" (Beyond the rainbow), 2007
© The Estate of Sigmar Polke / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn

The pieces on display highlighted Polke’s idiosyncratic use of picture surfaces, his application of color, his reference to the picture object, and his subtly humoristic way of combining abstraction and portrayal.  A further selection of earlier work offered a retrospective backdrop and included paintings and photographs.  The exhibition was conceived by the artist specifically for the Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen and was accompanied by a catalogue.

Parallel to the Polke exhibition the previous Rubens Prize laureates were on extensive display with pieces from the outstanding Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection.  This collection of paintings, which is at home in the Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen, consists exclusively of representative work groups that survey each of the laureate’s individual career phases.  In 2007, it comprised approximately 100 pieces.

Sigmar Polke, Museumsfoyer
Exhibition view "Sigmar Polke. 11th Rubens Prize of the City of Siegen"
© The Estate of Sigmar Polke/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. Photo: Wolfgang Morell

The Rubens Prize of the City of Siegen

The Rubens Prize was founded by the City of Siegen in 1955 and since then has been awarded to a living European artist every five years.  Five experts from various fields of expertise – museum practice, art criticism, art education, and the fine arts – constitute an external jury and in spring 2006 announced Sigmar Polke as the eleventh Rubens Prize laureate of the city of Siegen.  Prior to Polke renowned painters Hans Hartung (awarding 1957/58), Giorgio Morandi (1962), Francis Bacon (1967), Antoni Tàpies (1972), Fritz Winter (1977), Emil Schumacher (1982), Cy Twombly (1987), Rupprecht Geiger (1992), Lucian Freud (1997), and Maria Lassnig (2002) were the recipients of the prestigious Rubens Prize.

Opening hours

Open on holidays

11 - 6
11 - 8



5.90 €
4.60 €

all prices ››


Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen
Unteres Schloss 1
57072 Siegen

+49 (0) 271 405 77 0
+49 (0) 271 405 77 32