Our Present

Our Present

February 14 to June 1, 2020

Clemens von Wedemeyer, Transformation Scenario, 2018 Clemens von Wedemeyer, Transformation Scenario, 2018 Video, Colour, Sound, 20 min Start diashow

For many, the present seems incomprehensible and inexplicable. Although we are confronted daily with new diagnoses of the present–condensed into buzzwords such as digital change, post-factual age, migration society or climate crisis–we are losing our experience of the moment and of contemporaneity. Yesterday, today and tomorrow fall into one. The future is already happening in the present, which has not yet come to terms with the past. It seems that the present is either endless or disappearing altogether.

Against this background, the exhibition "Our Present" shows how artists relate to the present, and the forms that they give to it. The works exhibited address topics such as physicality, identity, politics and technology. By including different cultural contexts, in awareness of a common media sphere and its linkage of the past and the future, the exhibition opens up a multiple perspective to its viewers on differing ideas of the present today.

The issue of the present marks the beginning of our 2020 programme under the artistic direction of Thomas Thiel, while simultaneously including a fresh presentation of the collections in the sense of revisualizing the past.

With contributions by Eric Baudelaire, Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz, Forensic Oceanography / Forensic Architecture, Geumhyung Jeong, Hanne Lippard, Basim Magdy, Frida Orupabo, Wong Ping, Clemens von Wedemeyer

as well as works from the Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection and the museum’s Contemporary Art Collection by Charles Atlas, Francis Bacon, John Baldessari, Bernd und Hilla Becher, Vajiko Chachkhiani, Simone Forti, Terry Fox, Lucian Freud, Bernhard Fuchs, Rupprecht Geiger, Dan Graham, Katharina Grosse, Hans Haacke, Hans Hartung, Lena Henke, Candida Höfer, Nancy Holt, Joan Jonas, Isaac Julien, Aglaia Konrad, Maria Lassnig, Jochen Lempert, Sol LeWitt, Gordon Matta-Clark, Giorgio Morandi, Bruce Nauman, Nam June Paik, Otto Piene, Sigmar Polke, Charlotte Posenenske, Yvonne Rainer, Bridget Riley, Andrea Robbins/Max Becher, Emil Schumacher, Antoni Tàpies, Diana Thater, Niele Toroni, Cy Twombly, Stephen Willats und Fritz Winter.


Opening: Friday, February 14, 2020, 7 p.m.

Supported by Kunststiftung NRW.


Opening hours

Open on holidays

11 - 6
11 - 8



5.90 €
4.60 €

all prices ››


Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen
Unteres Schloss 1
57072 Siegen

Phone:+49 (0) 271 405 77 0
Fax: +49 (0) 271 405 77 32
E-Mail: info@mgk-siegen.de