The Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection

The Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection

Winners of the Rubens Prize of the City of Siegen

The Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection was created twenty-five years ago in connection with the Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen's foundation. Since then the collection has continuously grown to now comprise 200 paintings, drawings, prints, as well as several photographs and sculptural pieces.

Sigmar Polke, Ohne Titel, 1985-2006 Sigmar Polke, Ohne Titel, 1985-2006 The Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection Rubens Prize Winners of the City of Siegen Start diashow

The Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection encompasses important works by every winner of the Rubens Prize awarded by the City of Siegen.

The Collection unfolds an impressive survey of 20th- and early 21st-century European positions in painting. The wide spectrum of motifs and expressive forms ranges from quiet still-life works by Giorgio Morandi to Emil Schumacher's expressive color panoramas and Francis Bacon's disturbing masterpieces. But the collection not only comprises paintings, it also includes sculptures, graphic artworks and photographs by the past winners of the Rubens Prize.


The Winners of the Rubens Prize:
Hans Hartung (1957), Giorgio Morandi (1962), Francis Bacon (1967), Antoni Tàpies (1972), Fritz Winter (1977), Emil Schumacher (1982), Cy Twombly (1987), Rupprecht Geiger (1992), Lucian Freud (1997), Maria Lassnig (2002), Sigmar Polke (2007), Bridget Riley (2012) and Niele Toroni (2017).

Opening hours

Open on holidays

11 - 6
11 - 8



5.90 €
4.60 €

all prices ››


Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen
Unteres Schloss 1
57072 Siegen

Phone:+49 (0) 271 405 77 0
Fax: +49 (0) 271 405 77 32